Posted in adventures, Blog, boredom, college, Daily, Fashion, life, Musings, personal

Ambushed by the Hipster Fashion Parade Committee

“Like, who wears a suit these days?” 

“Well, me. Obviously.” 

“Aim for their expensive lattes. It’s the best non-violent, non-lethal takedown.”

The last thing you expect to face when you get on the bus is a sudden wave of hipsters, all in their trendy clothes and firing off rather overt comments about the attire of the members of their fellow generation. Young and mean seems to be the theme pumped out of the Mean Theme Machine today as these trendy try-hards take to public transport to rate and comment during some of the most ridiculous and uncalled for cases of ‘fashionista elitism’ I have ever encountered.

And of course, at one point, I was affected by the trendy beatdown boogie.

Now despite his rather ‘liberal’  smart casual appearance, Dandy often likes to wear a suit. Not something fancy, just a regular black suit with a choice of patterned shirt. Usually something floral or geometric. And of course, this got some criticism from the surprise committee. One comment, written above:

My response was, of course, only expressed within my own mind. I wasn’t going to open my mouth and respond to someone picking a dude apart about wearing a bloody suit. Even though it is probably the last thing that anyone would ever imagine me wearing, I am quite fond of the garment and I shall wear it however I please: Trend or no trend.

And you should all do the same. Suit yourselves.

… did you see what I did there?

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

6 thoughts on “Ambushed by the Hipster Fashion Parade Committee

Leave a Reply

