Posted in Gaming, life, Video Games

Counter Struck

I recently made my first online Steam purchase. Counter Strike: Global Offensive. A first person shooter game made by the legendary company known as Valve. Not only was the game on my ‘to buy’ list for a while but the series in general was just something that I’ve been meaning to take a look at. Now that I’ve finally gotten around to tackling the behemoth, I can see what the fuss is all about … kinda.

Don’t get me wrong, the game is as solid as a diamond is dense. The mechanics and everything are pretty darn great, even if they take a lot of getting used to. The community however is like the surprise anchovy on a non-traditional capriciosa pizza. It’s unpleasant, unforgiving and comes out of nowhere. The amount of abuse a new player can cop simply for being ‘bad’ at the game or about anything in general is just astoundingly horrible. One player asked if I was ‘touched in the head’ for not being able to snap my crosshairs onto an incoming enemy in time. I mean, I’ve never used a mouse to aim a virtual weapon before in my life. But this explanation didn’t seem to be worthy of understanding or sympathy.

That MAG-7 weapon is probably my favourite. The fast reloading pump action shotgun, I think. Since I seem to have a nasty knack for running into people in tightly knit spaces. Yeah, it’s not exactly the cheapest of those weapons but it’s ok. What bugs me as that most of the weapons that I am comfortable with are only on the good guy’s side.

Apparently I’ve also heard that you can learn Russian in just a week on this game. Not sure what that is supposed to mean but I am looking forward to learning another language.

"This guy. Gets me every time."
“This guy. Gets me every time.”
Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

10 thoughts on “Counter Struck

  1. Welcome to the fold 🙂 I just can’t devote that much time to getting up to the other players level of skill.

    As for a vile community, its just CS GO. TF2 is a lot more approachable. Actually heck its any game that has money tournaments it gets dead serious to the players. CS GO, DOTA 2, LOL, COD all have tournaments and are all notorious for having hateful players.

    Like

    1. Hey there,

      Yeah, there is no way that I’m going to be able to clock enough hours into the game to form anything resembling skill. A lot of the players do take it really damn seriously. Which is what put me off games like DOTA. Funnily enough, I find that COD doesn’t really have a horrible community unless you go into either the ranked/league play playlists or, funnily enough, the party games. (Infection, Gun Game, One Shot)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Man, the people in the competitive lobbies are poisonous. You DON’T want to be the last player alive during a game of demolition. You can feel them judging your every move, fingers on the Report Player button. Hah!

      Like

Leave a Reply

