Posted in Music

Alas, another has left for their maiden voyage …

So i was in that particular kind of mood to listen to some spacey bleeps and progressive musical bliss earlier today, which ultimately led me to pull up YouTube and get Tangerine Dream’s very own masterpiece of an LP entitled ‘Tangram’ up to revel in some sublime Moog synthesiser melodies. Upon briefly taking a gander at the comments section, I noticed something that caught me right off guard. Someone had written ‘rip edgar frose’ or something along the lines of that and posted that as a comment. For those of you that don’t know who the man in question is, Edgar Frose is one of, if not, THE long standing members of Tangerine Dream. Upon doing a bit of digging about on Google out of sheer morbid curiosity, I would be led to find out that Mr. Frose had indeed passed away roughly a week ago due to cardio-vascular related problem originating from his lungs (or at least that’s how I understand it.)

Just as a bit of a tribute to one of my favourite bands of all time, I thought I would just take this moment to not only post during this busy time to at least give the followers something to gawk at, but I thought it would be a perfect chance to share some of Edgar’s musical achievements with you. And what I mean by that is I have this wonderful link to an absolute roller coaster of a ride that is Tangerine Dream’s ‘Tangram’.

So, Edgar man. Here is to you. Keep on rocking the synth past those golden gates.

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

One thought on “Alas, another has left for their maiden voyage …

  1. It is such a shame that Edgar Frose has passed on – but he left us with some wonder and magical music to inspire us to be creative. Thanks for sharing, and this is one of my favorite songs by him, great choice. Tangerine Dream was probably my very first introduction to electronic/synth music. I remember when my dad bought me my first cd which was DM4 – such a great album too: “I’m going on to Spain without you” where some of the spoken word in the first track and I’ll never forget them. TD’s music is very unforgettable. If you like Tangerine Dream, I’d highly recommend you check out a band called ‘Maserati’ (Pyramid of the Sun is a great album). Also check out Jean Michel Jarre he was one of first electronic/synth musicians who would later inspire Edgar Frose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

