Posted in life

Spending My Time in the Doldrums.

Earlier today, I was struck by a bone shattering thought that hit me like a blind man being blindsided by a big rig. In the 19 years that I have lived in my hometown, the only change to come about within that period of time was a minor renovation to a surf wear shop and a completely useless clock tower that doesn’t even function properly. Hoping that it was just my lifetime that had been rife with local inactivity, I decided that it would be a good idea to question my good ol’ father about whether or not any radical changes of scenery or town structure had occurred during his own time here, to which he replied:

“In the 2o something years that I have lived down here, not one thing has changed down here. It’s been like this for as long as I can imagine.” 

It’s funny that we, as kids or even as young adults, seem to view the future as some kind of wonder world filled with noticeably different landscapes and ‘HomeTown 2.0s’. The kind of stuff that makes you look back and sigh “Those were the days …” or “I remember when this used to be a …… shop/restaurant/club.” only to psychologically make you feel twice as ancient as you supposedly are and make you worry about your receding hairline even more.

And that has nothing to do with the title of this post, which is hinting at gloomy tides brewing in Dandy’s life.

Yes, it’s true. I am sad. Again. It’s like no matter how much social interaction I go through or activities or hobbies I invest time into, I just never feel any sense of accomplishment, glee or even the slightest sentiment that resembles a ‘day worth spent’. Or maybe it’s the heat … or the inactivity.

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

