Posted in Blog, Diary, Experience, Gaming, Health, Humour, life, Music, personal, Spiritual, Youth

“Where did I go wrong … ?”

I lost my drafts. Somewhere along in WordPress oblivion.

I had originally written a whole three paragraphs as a post regarding my experiences with ambient music and how I came in contact with the genre, as well as what possessed me to don my uncool shades and start producing in one of the most low mainstream genres of music of all time. But I think it would be much better, and far more easier, to write about how frustrated I am about losing that post as well as how infrequent my posting has become.

I have never really been too big on social networking. I mean, I would update a status daily but it was usually no more than a sentence. Going maybe a few years back, I think my enthusiasm towards social networking was a far brighter flame since it was all so new at the time. Would you believe that I used Windows Live Messenger/MSN Messenger more than I used Facebook Chat? I only had like 3 or 4 friends on there that I would chat to anyway. And honestly, that’s all I really need. I could have hundreds and hundreds of contacts and only really talk to one or two on a daily basis. Recently I had tried to broaden that number and reach out to people that I normally don’t converse with on a regular basis out of good will. But it seems to have just fallen flat. I really cannot be bothered with typing extravagant responses nor can I stand waiting around for replies. It’s nothing personal. I am just that sort of person … now more than ever.

Sadly they killed off Messenger and unfortunately I don’t have enough Skype contacts to even constitute a ‘list’. Now I get stuck catching a glimpse of that dreadful News Feed only to find myself trawling through it out of an unbeatable curiosity that something good might be there.

Spoiler: There isn’t. Ever. At all. 

This brings me closer and closer, edging nearer ever so slightly, towards the idea of buying a Non-Intel Mac or a bit newer just so that I can browse the web if I really need to while not having the luxury of indulging in any of these procrastination boosting networks. I recently disbanded my entire fleet of social networking sites (except for this one and my SoundCloud, of course) in order to just obtain some peace and quiet. I can’t be updating all of them on a regular basis, nor do I have the motivation to. And with things like training for karate, my recent painting fetish and … well, shameless video gaming during times of unproductively (It’s a long running guilty pleasure that keeps me from actually finding part time work.)

To close up this stale mess of a post, getting rid of a few of the vices on my spare time has ultimately helped me to become a productive person once again. And honestly, I really couldn’t recommend anything else as a cure to those with a lack of motivation. It’s absolutely great to stop dragging yourself through the virtual world and instead, prance and happily skip about in the real one.

And this is coming from a nineteen year old.

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

