Posted in Comedy, Humour, life, Music, personal

“I don’t know, who it is …”

But it’s probably that guy that gets a kick out of looking for outdated computer alternatives on eBay.

I asked my friend Joe, and I also asked my friend Jake whether they had any old computers that they wanted to get rid off. Not only did both of my wrongly named friends beat me with a stick until I had scurried away from my makeshift campsites beside their front doors but I was completely unsuccessful in my endeavour to acquire new (old) hardware. So unsuccessful that the compassionately optimistic elderly woman at the local thrift store told me, in the sweetest voice that she could muster, that my efforts were to ultimately to end in vein.

… maybe the metaphor for what I was trying to explain got lost.

The point is that I have always had a knack for picking up old outdated pieces of electronic junk that nobody wanted while putting them to the best of use. Back in the days of my later childhood years (10 – 12), visiting the local pawn store became something of a treat as diving through the masses upon masses of Nintendo 64 game cartridges was an experience that I couldn’t pass up. Bringing home an old ‘sunflower’ iMac G4 was something of a guilty delight. And how could I forget my endearing effort to purchase old science fiction movies on VHS tape on an almost unhealthily enthusiastic level? Heck, this stuff was not only either in good condition or put to the most of it’s remaining use, but dirt cheap too! I mean that iMac cost me no more than $50 at the time. It came with the original mouse and keyboard, everything! That mono-white polycarbonate dome of uneven style has some of my fondest memories along with it.

It seems that I am at my old tricks again.

I have found myself quite discontent with the current computers of now. In all honesty, I like the idea of limiting myself to the technology and specifications of a previous era. I am not talking about a ‘trying to access the internet on an abacus’ kind of of challenge,  but something slightly inferior to the current generation of personal computers that could also run older programs (Mostly music trackers and older Digital Audio Workbenches that I would absolutely love to use in my ambient soundscape project)

So, here I am. Staring at the screen while trying to conjure up enough money to purchase a lovely iMac G5. The intel based one. Look at that … that lovely polycarbonate plasticy white goodness!

I am so going to run OS 9 on it as well.

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

