Posted in Comedy, Health, Humour, life, Music, personal, Youth

“Rising up, back on the street … “

Did my 50 karate push ups, took my Panadol.

If this post ends up a lot shorter than the rest, then I am going to have to indulge for a minute here and just explain to you that my arms are essentially stiffer and more pain stricken than a spoonie on a tumblr binge. Just throwing that out there. Spoonies, I have nothing against you. That joke wasn’t too great, I know.

But aside from my yucky taste in humour, the horrible feeling of not being able to lift one’s arm above chest height has really gotten me down today. Despite doing a bit of kickboxing back in Year 9 of high school, I never remembered training to be so taxing. It feels like my arms have just been injected with some kind of liquid metal that has made them almost virtually impossible to move. If there was a better indicator of just how little of the heavy lifting activities in life you have been doing, I honestly couldn’t think of one because this just about takes the lead centred cake.  Yesterday was the day that I started my basic fitness training to make it a little easier on myself in the future for when the whole martial arts thing gets intense. I did a bit of warm ups, shook around for a bit, went for a short walk and then knuckled down to strengthen up the arm muscles. Unfortunately, I mustn’t of done enough of the stretching because after the slew of push ups that I had forced myself to do, my arms felt non existent. Weightless. It felt damn great!

But that is also an indicator that you may have overdone it.

And like every other overly eager moron at the start of their fitness journey, I went as far as to do even more of them. The night pretty much ended with me going over straight punches again with 5 minute yoga intervals. I am not going to lie, I felt better than I have ever felt before. It really brought me back to the days where I was that same extraverted ‘warrior mentality bearing’ bravado who would give a defiant ‘shit eating grin’ whilst staring in the face of adversity. And that might make me sound like I am really old, but it really was only 3 years ago. But … actually, now that I read that, I can feel my hair receding …

This is the first step down the road ahead. Countless amounts of people wanting to change their way have been here before. Now it’s time I leave my fresh footprint in the trodden dirt.

… I think that’s the correct word. ‘Trodden’. Somehow it doesn’t sound right. I think I might need another panadol for the oncoming headache as well …

 

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

