Posted in life, lyrics, Music, personal

“So I was thinking maybe we could just sit together and you know, play the keytar?”

Said no romantic and musical boyfriend to their equally music proficient and tune loving lover.

UNTIL THEY MET … THE DANDY.  *80s vocoder styled voice* 

Oho, yes. It’s true! I may or may not have asked a rather special someone in my life whether they’d like to sit on the couch one night and just jam away on the keytar. It’s a work in progress, but once the proper funding is all there, the dream shall become a very powerful reality. An emotional and bliss striking venture that will stick with me for the rest of my days. Of how I sat down with a girl who actually thought that an instrument such as the keytar was ‘cool’. Since they are a rather talented  singer in their own right, you can only imagine how giddy it made me when they even offered to sing along or just vocalise to it while we jammed out tunes straight from the Blues E Minor scale.

It’s just so darn cool!

Earlier, I wrote a post that expressed my mild resentment concerning the fact that I am indeed the only member of my family that just doesn’t give the slightest hoot about the guitar. I originally tried learning the bass but that was rather short lived. I mean, you can only make one real bass sound and slight variations of said noise with the help of techniques and effects. But with a synthesiser, you can make thousands of bass sounds! It’s this variation that keeps me interested in the instrument in the first place, and experimenting with the actual creation process of coming up with a sound makes the end result all the more personal. The style of playing and instrument itself aren’t just your signature, but the sound is too.

You could say that everything about a synthesiser can reflect the creativity of an individual in one way or another.

A lot of people would probably disagree with me. And to that I say “Well, fair enough.”.  There are plenty of people out there that would defend their intimacy with their guitars or other instruments just as much as I do with synthesisers. I guess it’s just a matter of what kind of sound inspires us while we are young or while we are delving into the growing world of music. For me, it was the fact that one instrument could make so many sounds and that it all came from your own personal tinkering. Plus, I am a sucker for ancient looking hunks of wood with keys and steel dials.

(This was the part of the writing process that I was distracted by a dental advertisement video. Who the hell makes an advertisement that goes for five minutes?)

Well, I’ve lost my trail of thought for now … but if you like to play an instrument or listen to music in general, be sure to take a moment to sit with your partner/lover/pet and just enjoy it with company. It’s certainly a simple experience that is far more powerful than anybody would reckon.

Be sure to take care of yourselves and have a lovely week!

– Dandy

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

