Posted in life, personal

“The long and winding road, huh?”

And it certainly always leads me back to your door.

Before you assume that I am reminiscing about a past relationship that I occasionally weep about during the middle of the night, face gently tucked into my arm and stray tears wetting a good majority of my pillow in the process, I will have you know that referencing the wonderful song with my effortless title is actually referring to something completely different. Something a lot more … boring.

I am talking about Mac OS X Mavericks.

Mavericks was an odd one. I remember downloading it a few weeks after it had come out and my initial reaction to the crustiness that came along with it’s clanky prime release was that there was something that was seriously flawed (and barely different) about this new iteration in the OS X family. To me, at the time, it was just a really damn cool name. And that was about it. It was good to be reminded by my childhood obsession with the Mega Man X series by a computer operating system of all things. How’s that for a flashback trigger?

With each patch and iteration of Mavericks, I found my computer working far more efficiently rather than crawling at speeds that even a tortoise would observe and chortle “Dude, that’s slow!”. Mavericks’ very slight expansion to OS X, with lovely additions such as iMessage/Messages (Which was the prime source of communication amongst a few of the dearest friends), was something that I appreciated immensely. The notifications sidebar was a feature that I almost completely forgot about until I decided to click it’s icon out of sheer curiosity a few hours ago. But this little addition was something that brought about fond memories of text based ‘chat room-esque’ moments shared with friends who would either be tapping away and responding via their grubby screened iPhones or those hideous monstrosities phone/tablet hybrids they call iPad Minis.

And then, like a tear in the rain, Mavericks would be washed away by the torrent that was Yosemite.

The new ‘simplistic looking’ interface honestly does nothing for me. The extra colours almost make it feel childish. Minimalism seems to be all the rage these days when it comes to aesthetics and honestly, I don’t think I will ever have the slightest clue why. But that in itself is rather subjective, as I am more of a fan of that lovely gloss riddled ‘original’ OS X design. It feels like all of those good time memories that danced about happily within the cradle of my mind have vanished along with the old design. And now I feel quite regretful.

Despite all of these lovely changes though, I ultimately find myself treading that long and winding road only to end back at the door of OS X Mavericks.

And I am pretty darn cool with that.

Author:

Dandy, a slightly spiritual and shamelessly materialistic paradox of a person, posts a handful of meek blog entries reflecting upon his daily experiences, scatterbrained thoughts and/or all types of crazy crap.

Leave a Reply

